critical evaluation

It is quite weird to realize that we are already in the end of the MA program. The past two years have been really rich in new experiences and knowledge, research and creativity. It is not easy to summarize all the aspects of my research and practice throughout the MA, I will try to underline the main ones and how I felt through the development of my practice.

Starting this course, I was quite curious about many aspects of digital art technologies, that were narrowed down as time passed by. In the beginning, I started experimenting further with stuff I was already familiar with, like image and video editing. Through tutorials, discussion with peers and personal research, I found out more about the world of digital imagery and motion graphics, and then pushed myself further one more time to the world of 3D, an aspect quite new for me. Introduction to 3D scan was crucial for my work development, as I found out that it fitted perfectly to my ideas and subject matter. 3D scan was a great tool for further 3D work, and I feel really grateful that I had the chance to know it more thanks to the MA and my peers. My art practice after that point gained a new 3D aesthetics, that produced really interesting and original results.

In relation to subject matter, my choice of dealing with philosophical theories and abstract concepts related to existence and perception was again something I wanted to push further. I am really glad I took this decision, and I was not prevented by the difficulty of abstract notions and research. After two years of art practice, reading and research paper, I can say that this research was nothing more than my curiosity to understand the human mind and the nature of our existence, but in a more tangible way. Personal experience, memory, body as a tool, interconnection, corporeal imagination and perception, these are all concentrated ideas that always troubled me in a way. In a tutorial I had with Jonathan some time ago, he mentioned seeing two approaches in my work, a conceptual one dealing with all these phenomenological and existential theories, and a personal one, referring to emotions through my work’s “fleshy” aesthetics. I think that in the end, the one approach acts simultaneously as my translation of the other.

Both of the above came to be combined in my research of how to present an artwork. Through my thoughts about situation and relation to a public site, I found myself questioning the very notion of an artwork, and more importantly a digital one, but also trying to find new ways of expressing this relation between artwork and site. Another translation of this is of course the love I have for Athens and all its history and character. Through public installation, documentation and research, I gained new knowledge and, even if my original ideas on that were slightly changed, I believe it gave me tools for future artistic expression.

It is fair to say that this journey certainly gave me tools for future development, as I believe it does not end here. I would like to learn more about 3D representation and animation, and to be able to control even better my digital still or animated imagery. I would also like to expand my reading and research to other philosophical theories, and see how this gets combined with my ideas and concerns. As for exhibiting and public space, I would like to become more active with exhibitions and events, in Athens, London and abroad, and maybe engaging in public installations and other events. My participation in Athens Digital Arts Festival this year was a good starting point, and I intent to try and be more involved in the art scene. This MA gave me many ideas for possible future projects, and I am really glad for that.

At this point, I think I better stop as I have already passed the limit! A big thanks to all our tutors and fellow students for giving me this opportunity to enrich myself with so many new things.

Leave a Reply

