public space / body and identity

Rafael Lozano-Hemmer’s public video installations
Under Scan and Body Movies

  • body and identity / one into the other
  • ‘takeover’ of public space
  • gaze

“I can feel myself under the gaze of someone whose eyes I do not even see, not even discern. All that is necessary is for something to signify to me that there may be others there. The window if it gets a bit dark and if I have reasons for thinking that there is someone behind it, is strait-way a gaze. From the moment this gaze exists, I am already something other, in that I feel myself becoming an object for the gaze of others. But in this position, which is a reciprocal one, others also know that I am an object who knows himself to be seen.”
Jacques Lacan

The Seminar of Jacques Lacan: Book I, New York 1988

Leave a Reply

